Press Releases

Department of Agriculture (DA) and Department Of Health (DOH) Sign the IRR of the Food Safety Act Of 2013

On February 20, 2015, DA Secretary Proceso J. Alcala and DOH OIC Secretary Janette L. Garin signed Joint Administrative Order No. 2015-0007 (DA-DOH JAO 2015-007) or the Implementing Rules and Regulations (IRR) of R.A. 10611, “An Act to Strengthen the Food Safety Regulatory System in the Country to Protect Consumer Health and Facilitate Market Access of Local Foods and Food Products, and for Other Purposes”, otherwise known as the “Food Safety Act of 2013.” The signing ceremony was held at the SMX Convention Center, Pasay City.

The ceremony included the signing of the Covenant of Support by the representatives of the agency members of the Food Safety Regulatory Coordinating Board (FSRCB). In addition to the DOH and the DA, the FSRCB is composed of the Department Interior and Local Government (DILG), the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), the Department of Science and Technology (DOST), and the Leagues of Barangays, Municipalities, Cities, and the and Provinces..

The IRR of the Food Safety Act of 2013 was crafted by DA and DOH TWGs working together and presented to both public and private sectors in a series of public consultations in Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao. The final document incorporated the comments and recommendations of stakeholders from national government agencies (NGAs), academe, livestock and meat industries, local government units (LGUs), consumer groups and other interested parties.

The DA-DOH JAO No. 2015-0007 will be published in a newspaper of national coverage and will be submitted to the Office of the National Administrative Registrar (ONAR) as called for prior to effectivity.

The guidelines to specific rules and regulations of the IRR are being drafted by the Food Safety Regulatory Agencies (FSRA) and will be subject to same vigorous procedure as the IRR before approval and circulation. The DA and DOH will disseminate the IRR of RA 10611 through a series of information drives in the three major geographic divisions of the country- Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao. The schedules of the orientation seminars will be posted in this website as soon as this is finalized.

march pic